U15 Girls Off To Winning Start

28 Jan by Mallow United PRO

CWSSL U15 Girls Pool C
Mallow United 2 – 0 Carrigaline Hibs

Mallow United U15 Girls opened their 2020 campaign with a very hard fought win over Carrigaline Hibernians at St Marys on Saturday. Having lost five players from of last years squad, Mallow fielded a very young and inexperienced side however, following an uncertain start, the team settled down and gradually took control of the game.
Lois Asante twice went close to scoring before finally breaking the dead lock 16 minutes in with a powerful strike into the roof of the Carrigaline net. With the defence, competently lead by Niamh Williams and Nicole O Rahilly and backed up by a very steady Clodagh Lehane in goal holding the Carrigaline attack, Mallow pushed on searching for another score. This score duly arrived in the 21st minute when Ciara O Brien, raced through the visitors defence and cracked a powerful shot against the upright and into the back of the net.
Now, with a reasonable lead, Mallow took the opportunity of introducing four of last years under 11’s and continued to press but failed to add to the score as the half came to a close.
Playing with a strong breeze to their back, Carrigaline opened the second half in a determined mood and pressed Mallow back deep into their own half. The defence stood firm however with excellent performances from Lucy O Sullivan and team captain, Emily Power who was outstanding in the holding role in front of the defence. Though under constant pressure throughout the second half, Mallow came close to adding to their tally a couple of times with breakaway efforts from Lois Asante.
Carrigaline continued to apply the pressure right up to the end but with player of the match Clodagh Lehane giving an outstanding performance in goal, their numerus efforts floundered like the waves crashing on the sturdy sea wall that was the Mallow defence.

Mallow United U15 Girls Squad: Clodagh Lehane, Lucy O’Sullivan, Nicole O’Rahilly, Niamh Williams, Aisling McCormack, Emily Power, Emma O’Sullivan, Ciara O’Brien, Allanah Luddy, Lois Asante, Eimear Tierney, Aoife Lehane, Caraiosa Foley, Amy O’Leary, Doireann Breslin, Caitlin Ryan


St. Marys Seocndary School, Mallow

Comments --