U12 Boys Take 3 Points in Midleton


Cork Schoolboys League U12 Premier Division
Midleton 1 – 3 Mallow United

From the outset the U12 Premier Division fixture between Midleton and Mallow United was always going to be a tight game with Midleton sitting just one place above Mallow in the league table. Played in very tough conditions with rain and a heavy pitch the game began with equal possession and equal opportunities from the start.
Mallow edged ahead early in the first half with Adam O’Brien slotting home following a well delivered corner. Great work by Mallow’s back line of Louie Power, Jack Quill and Odhran O’Sullivan and Denjoe O’Riordan in goals kept Midleton at bay throughout the first half and Mallow held a 1-0 lead going into the half time break.
Five minutes into the second half however clever work by the Midleton attack saw them outsmart the Mallow offside trap to score an equaliser and Midleton were back in the game.
It was at this point that Mallow stepped it up a notch with the midfield of Adam O’Brien, Aaron Murphy, Cormac Fitzgerald and Davidson Amechi taking control of the game assisting in defence but also looking dangerous as they supported the Mallow attack going forward.
The introduction of Caleb Crone and Mikie O’Riordan for Mallow was to play a significant role in the outcome of the game. Mallow took the lead for the second time after a long ball by goalkeeper Denjoe O’Riordan was headed on by Mikie O’Riordan to Dylan O’Connell who finished neatly to the bottom left corner.
Midleton all the time fought hard to get something out of the game but Mallow were up to the challenge and held strong at the back making it very difficult for Midleton to find the Mallow goal.
Mallow’s third goal and the final score in the match could be a contender for goal of the season. After the ball was played forward from midfield, Dylan O’Connell hit a volley which went over the keepers head and dipped under the crossbar. Final score Midleton 1 – 3 Mallow United.

Mallow United Squad: Denjoe O’Riordan, Odhran O’Sullivan, Jack Quill, Louie Power, Adam O’Brien, Aaron Murphy, Davidson Amechi, Cormac Fitzgerald, Dylan O’Connell, Caleb Crone, Mikie O’Riordan


Midleton, Cork

Comments --