Juniors Progress in Cup


John Hayes Trophy Round 1 Mallow United 5 – 3 Corinthians Academicals

Mallow United Juniors required extra-time to overcome a young Corinthians Academicals side in the first round of the John Hayes Trophy in the Town Park last Saturday. Based on current league positions Mallow would have been considered favourites going into the game but a resilient Corinthians performance meant that Mallow had to work hard for the win. Dave Barrow opened the scoring, putting Mallow ahead with a superb finish from 12 yards with O’Driscoll providing the assist with a perfectly weighted pass from the edge of the box. Mallow continued to dominate possession however Corinthians capitalised on a period of uncertainty in the Mallow rear-guard to equalise. Mallow regained the lead when Derek O’Flynn powered a 25 yard free kick into the top corner leaving the Corinthians keeper with little chance of getting his hands to the ball. Corinthians equalised for the second time shortly before half time leaving the Mallow side regretting their failure to capitalise on their dominance. Mallow started the second half well and when John Kelleher put Mallow ahead for the third with a close range it looked like Mallow were in a position to push on however Corinthians fought their way back into the game again with a goal from a free kick that resembled the O’Flynn strike from the first half. With the game tied 3- 3 at 90 minutes extra time allowed Mallow to finally exerted their dominance on the score sheet with James O’Driscoll finding the back of the net twice to top off a superb individual performance. Mallow United return to league action this weekend when they face Park United in the battle for the Junior Division 2 title. Mallow currently lie in 3rd place, a point ahead of Park, with Mallow having the advantage of games in hand on those around them. Mallow United versus Park United takes place this Saturday in the Town Park with a 4pm kick-off.
Mallow Squad: Michael Murphy, Ed Walsh, John O’Callaghan, Sean Woulfe, Brian Doody, Dave Barrow, John Kelleher, Damien Doody, Liam Dowling, Derek O’Flynn, James O’Driscoll, Adam Scanlon, Cian Cronin, Owen Doyle


Town Park, Mallow

Comments --